Steve Biko.
Steve Biko (18 December 1946 – 12 September 1977) was a South African Xhosa anti-apartheid activist. Fighting racial segregation and white-minority rule in South Africa, Biko was at the forefront of the grassroots Black Consciousness Movement during the late 1960s and 1970s. Frustrated by the domination of white liberals in the anti-apartheid movement, he became a leading figure in the creation of the South African Students' Organisation in 1968. An African nationalist and African socialist, he was influenced by Frantz Fanon and the African-American Black Power movement. He promoted its slogan "black is beautiful", believing that black people needed to rid themselves of any sense of racial inferiority. In 1972, he helped found the Black People's Convention to spread these ideas among the wider population. Though the government banned Biko in 1973, he remained politically active. He was arrested in August 1977 and severely beaten by State security officers, resulting in his death. One of the earliest icons of the movement against apartheid, Biko is regarded as a political martyr.
Monday, 11 September 2017
Sunday, 10 September 2017
Benedict Arnold's expedition to Quebec
Benedict Arnold's expedition to Quebec.
Benedict Arnold led an expedition early in the American Revolutionary War from Cambridge, Massachusetts, through the wilderness of what is now Maine to the gates of Quebec City, setting out on September 11, 1775. Colonel Arnold's force of 1,100 Continental Army troops was part of a two-pronged invasion of the British Province of Quebec, along with Richard Montgomery's expedition pushing north from Lake Champlain. By the time Arnold reached the French settlements above the Saint Lawrence River in November, his force was reduced to 600 starving men. They had traveled about 350 miles (560 km) through poorly charted wilderness, twice the distance they had expected to cover. Assisted by the local French-speaking Canadiens, Arnold's troops crossed the Saint Lawrence on November 13 and 14 and attempted to put Quebec City under siege. Failing in this, they withdrew until Montgomery arrived to lead an unsuccessful attack on the city. Arnold received a promotion to brigadier general. His route through northern Maine has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Arnold Trail to Quebec.
Benedict Arnold led an expedition early in the American Revolutionary War from Cambridge, Massachusetts, through the wilderness of what is now Maine to the gates of Quebec City, setting out on September 11, 1775. Colonel Arnold's force of 1,100 Continental Army troops was part of a two-pronged invasion of the British Province of Quebec, along with Richard Montgomery's expedition pushing north from Lake Champlain. By the time Arnold reached the French settlements above the Saint Lawrence River in November, his force was reduced to 600 starving men. They had traveled about 350 miles (560 km) through poorly charted wilderness, twice the distance they had expected to cover. Assisted by the local French-speaking Canadiens, Arnold's troops crossed the Saint Lawrence on November 13 and 14 and attempted to put Quebec City under siege. Failing in this, they withdrew until Montgomery arrived to lead an unsuccessful attack on the city. Arnold received a promotion to brigadier general. His route through northern Maine has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Arnold Trail to Quebec.
Benedict Arnold's expedition to Quebec
Benedict Arnold's expedition to Quebec.
Benedict Arnold led an expedition early in the American Revolutionary War from Cambridge, Massachusetts, through the wilderness of what is now Maine to the gates of Quebec City, setting out on September 11, 1775. Colonel Arnold's force of 1,100 Continental Army troops was part of a two-pronged invasion of the British Province of Quebec, along with Richard Montgomery's expedition pushing north from Lake Champlain. By the time Arnold reached the French settlements above the Saint Lawrence River in November, his force was reduced to 600 starving men. They had traveled about 350 miles (560 km) through poorly charted wilderness, twice the distance they had expected to cover. Assisted by the local French-speaking Canadiens, Arnold's troops crossed the Saint Lawrence on November 13 and 14 and attempted to put Quebec City under siege. Failing in this, they withdrew until Montgomery arrived to lead an unsuccessful attack on the city. Arnold received a promotion to brigadier general. His route through northern Maine has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Arnold Trail to Quebec.
Benedict Arnold led an expedition early in the American Revolutionary War from Cambridge, Massachusetts, through the wilderness of what is now Maine to the gates of Quebec City, setting out on September 11, 1775. Colonel Arnold's force of 1,100 Continental Army troops was part of a two-pronged invasion of the British Province of Quebec, along with Richard Montgomery's expedition pushing north from Lake Champlain. By the time Arnold reached the French settlements above the Saint Lawrence River in November, his force was reduced to 600 starving men. They had traveled about 350 miles (560 km) through poorly charted wilderness, twice the distance they had expected to cover. Assisted by the local French-speaking Canadiens, Arnold's troops crossed the Saint Lawrence on November 13 and 14 and attempted to put Quebec City under siege. Failing in this, they withdrew until Montgomery arrived to lead an unsuccessful attack on the city. Arnold received a promotion to brigadier general. His route through northern Maine has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Arnold Trail to Quebec.
Saturday, 9 September 2017
North Eastern Railway War Memorial
North Eastern Railway War Memorial.
The North Eastern Railway War Memorial is a First World War memorial in York in northern England designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens. It commemorates employees of the North Eastern Railway (NER) who were killed while serving in the First World War. The NER, one of the largest employers in the north of England, released over 18,000 of its employees to serve in the armed forces. By the end of the war, 2,236 men from the company had died on military service overseas; others were killed at home by bombardments of east coast ports, including a raid on Scarborough, Hartlepool and Whitby, and three Zeppelin raids on York. After the war, thousands of memorials were built across Britain. Among the most prominent designers of memorials was Lutyens, described by Historic England as "the leading English architect of his generation". The NER memorial, unveiled in 1924, consists of a 54-foot-high (16-metre) obelisk rising from the rear portion of a three-sided screen wall. The wall forms a recess in which stands Lutyens' characteristic Stone of Remembrance. The memorial is a grade II* listed building.
The North Eastern Railway War Memorial is a First World War memorial in York in northern England designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens. It commemorates employees of the North Eastern Railway (NER) who were killed while serving in the First World War. The NER, one of the largest employers in the north of England, released over 18,000 of its employees to serve in the armed forces. By the end of the war, 2,236 men from the company had died on military service overseas; others were killed at home by bombardments of east coast ports, including a raid on Scarborough, Hartlepool and Whitby, and three Zeppelin raids on York. After the war, thousands of memorials were built across Britain. Among the most prominent designers of memorials was Lutyens, described by Historic England as "the leading English architect of his generation". The NER memorial, unveiled in 1924, consists of a 54-foot-high (16-metre) obelisk rising from the rear portion of a three-sided screen wall. The wall forms a recess in which stands Lutyens' characteristic Stone of Remembrance. The memorial is a grade II* listed building.
North Eastern Railway War Memorial
North Eastern Railway War Memorial.
The North Eastern Railway War Memorial is a First World War memorial in York in northern England designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens. It commemorates employees of the North Eastern Railway (NER) who were killed while serving in the First World War. The NER, one of the largest employers in the north of England, released over 18,000 of its employees to serve in the armed forces. By the end of the war, 2,236 men from the company had died on military service overseas; others were killed at home by bombardments of east coast ports, including a raid on Scarborough, Hartlepool and Whitby, and three Zeppelin raids on York. After the war, thousands of memorials were built across Britain. Among the most prominent designers of memorials was Lutyens, described by Historic England as "the leading English architect of his generation". The NER memorial, unveiled in 1924, consists of a 54-foot-high (16-metre) obelisk rising from the rear portion of a three-sided screen wall. The wall forms a recess in which stands Lutyens' characteristic Stone of Remembrance. The memorial is a grade II* listed building.
The North Eastern Railway War Memorial is a First World War memorial in York in northern England designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens. It commemorates employees of the North Eastern Railway (NER) who were killed while serving in the First World War. The NER, one of the largest employers in the north of England, released over 18,000 of its employees to serve in the armed forces. By the end of the war, 2,236 men from the company had died on military service overseas; others were killed at home by bombardments of east coast ports, including a raid on Scarborough, Hartlepool and Whitby, and three Zeppelin raids on York. After the war, thousands of memorials were built across Britain. Among the most prominent designers of memorials was Lutyens, described by Historic England as "the leading English architect of his generation". The NER memorial, unveiled in 1924, consists of a 54-foot-high (16-metre) obelisk rising from the rear portion of a three-sided screen wall. The wall forms a recess in which stands Lutyens' characteristic Stone of Remembrance. The memorial is a grade II* listed building.
Friday, 8 September 2017
California Diamond Jubilee half dollar
California Diamond Jubilee half dollar.
The California Diamond Jubilee half dollar was a US commemorative fifty cent piece, struck at the San Francisco Mint in 1925. The San Francisco Citizens' Committee wanted to use coin sales to fund a celebration of the 75th anniversary of California statehood. A California congressman attached the authorization to another coinage bill, which was approved in early 1925. Designs by sculptor Jo Mora met a hostile reception at the Commission of Fine Arts, but the Citizens' Committee would not change them, and they were approved. The coin has been widely praised for its beauty; the obverse depicts a Gold Rush-era prospector, and the reverse is an adaptation of the Flag of California, showing a grizzly bear. Some 150,000 of the authorized mintage of 300,000 coins were struck in August 1925 in San Francisco. They were offered for sale the following month, but nearly half went unsold, and were later melted. The coin is catalogued at between $200 and $1,300, though exceptional specimens have sold for more.
The California Diamond Jubilee half dollar was a US commemorative fifty cent piece, struck at the San Francisco Mint in 1925. The San Francisco Citizens' Committee wanted to use coin sales to fund a celebration of the 75th anniversary of California statehood. A California congressman attached the authorization to another coinage bill, which was approved in early 1925. Designs by sculptor Jo Mora met a hostile reception at the Commission of Fine Arts, but the Citizens' Committee would not change them, and they were approved. The coin has been widely praised for its beauty; the obverse depicts a Gold Rush-era prospector, and the reverse is an adaptation of the Flag of California, showing a grizzly bear. Some 150,000 of the authorized mintage of 300,000 coins were struck in August 1925 in San Francisco. They were offered for sale the following month, but nearly half went unsold, and were later melted. The coin is catalogued at between $200 and $1,300, though exceptional specimens have sold for more.
California Diamond Jubilee half dollar
California Diamond Jubilee half dollar.
The California Diamond Jubilee half dollar was a US commemorative fifty cent piece, struck at the San Francisco Mint in 1925. The San Francisco Citizens' Committee wanted to use coin sales to fund a celebration of the 75th anniversary of California statehood. A California congressman attached the authorization to another coinage bill, which was approved in early 1925. Designs by sculptor Jo Mora met a hostile reception at the Commission of Fine Arts, but the Citizens' Committee would not change them, and they were approved. The coin has been widely praised for its beauty; the obverse depicts a Gold Rush-era prospector, and the reverse is an adaptation of the Flag of California, showing a grizzly bear. Some 150,000 of the authorized mintage of 300,000 coins were struck in August 1925 in San Francisco. They were offered for sale the following month, but nearly half went unsold, and were later melted. The coin is catalogued at between $200 and $1,300, though exceptional specimens have sold for more.
The California Diamond Jubilee half dollar was a US commemorative fifty cent piece, struck at the San Francisco Mint in 1925. The San Francisco Citizens' Committee wanted to use coin sales to fund a celebration of the 75th anniversary of California statehood. A California congressman attached the authorization to another coinage bill, which was approved in early 1925. Designs by sculptor Jo Mora met a hostile reception at the Commission of Fine Arts, but the Citizens' Committee would not change them, and they were approved. The coin has been widely praised for its beauty; the obverse depicts a Gold Rush-era prospector, and the reverse is an adaptation of the Flag of California, showing a grizzly bear. Some 150,000 of the authorized mintage of 300,000 coins were struck in August 1925 in San Francisco. They were offered for sale the following month, but nearly half went unsold, and were later melted. The coin is catalogued at between $200 and $1,300, though exceptional specimens have sold for more.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)